The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

0.00 Avg rating0 Votes
Genres: Banned Books
Language: English
Type: Digital

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is a collection of twelve detective stories by British author Arthur Conan Doyle. It was first published in 1892, and it contains the earliest short stories featuring the consulting detective Sherlock Holmes. The stories are collected in the same sequence, which is not supported by any fictional chronology. The only characters common to all twelve are Holmes and Dr. Watson, and all are related in first-person narrative from Watson's point of view.

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes contains many of Doyle's favourite Sherlock Holmes stories. In 1927, he submitted a list of what he believed were his twelve best Sherlock Holmes stories to The Strand Magazine. Among those he listed were "The Adventure of the Speckled Band" (as his favourite), "The Red-Headed League" (second), "A Scandal in Bohemia" (fifth) and "The Five Orange Pips" (seventh). The book was banned in the Soviet Union in 1929 because of its alleged "occultism", but the book gained popularity in a black market of similarly banned books, and the restriction was lifted in 1940.

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is a classic collection of detective stories that has been enjoyed by readers of all ages for generations. It is a must-read for anyone who enjoys mystery, suspense, and the art of deduction.

Here is a list of the twelve stories in the collection:

  • A Scandal in Bohemia
The Red-Headed LeagueA Case of IdentityThe Boscombe Valley MysteryThe Five Orange PipsThe Man with the Twisted LipThe Adventure of the Blue CarbuncleThe Adventure of the Speckled BandThe Adventure of the Engineer's ThumbThe Adventure of the Noble BachelorThe Adventure of the Beryl CoronetThe Adventure of the Copper Beeches


Required fields are marked *. Your email address will not be published.