Lucy Maud Montgomery Short Stories, 1909 to 1922

0.00 Avg rating0 Votes
Genres: canada
Language: english
Type: Digital

Lucy Maud Montgomery Short Stories, 1909 to 1922" is a diverse collection showcasing the breadth of Montgomery's writing during a prolific period. Here's an overview:


  • Romance and Love: Many stories explore love in various forms, from shy affections to unexpected encounters and even revenge-driven plots.
  • Life in Rural Communities: The collection is steeped in the atmosphere of small-town Canadian life, capturing its warmth, gossip, traditions, and challenges.
  • Family and Relationships: Bonds between family members, friends, and neighbors are explored with sensitivity and insight.
  • Overcoming Adversity: Several stories feature characters facing hardships, showcasing their resilience and the search for hope.
  • Fantasy and Folklore: A few tales weave in elements of magic, mythical creatures, and local legends, adding a touch of whimsy.

Notable Stories:

  • "Akin to Love": A poignant tale of unspoken feelings and missed opportunities.
  • "Jessamine": A young woman struggles with societal expectations and discovers her own path.
  • "My Lady Jane": A humorous story about mistaken identities and unexpected romance.
  • "The Finished Story": A writer grapples with self-doubt and the complexities of storytelling.
  • "The Garden of Spices": A young girl seeks adventure and finds beauty in unexpected places.


This collection offers a delightful journey into the world of Lucy Maud Montgomery, showcasing her signature lyrical prose, vivid character portrayals, and ability to capture the essence of life in rural Canada. The stories range from heartwarming to thought-provoking, appealing to readers who enjoy classic literature, romance, and insightful explorations of human nature.


Required fields are marked *. Your email address will not be published.