Lucy Maud Montgomery Short Stories, 1905 to 1906

0.00 Avg rating0 Votes
Genres: canada
Language: english
Type: Digital

Lucy Maud Montgomery Short Stories, 1905 to 1906" is a collection showcasing the early talent of the beloved author before her famed "Anne of Green Gables" days. It features 31 diverse stories published between 1905 and 1906, offering a glimpse into her developing themes and writing style.

Themes and Content:

  • Rural Life: Many stories are set in idyllic, close-knit island communities, reminiscent of Montgomery's Prince Edward Island upbringing. They explore themes of family, friendship, love, and belonging within these environments.
  • Strong Female Characters: Montgomery often features independent and determined women navigating societal expectations and pursuing their dreams.
  • Coming-of-Age: Several stories depict young individuals facing challenges and self-discovery as they transition into adulthood.
  • Humor and Heartwarming Moments: Despite occasional conflicts, the stories are known for their lighthearted tone, witty dialogue, and heartwarming resolutions.

Some Notable Stories:

  • "Clorinda's Gifts": A young woman challenges outdated traditions through unconventional acts of kindness.
  • "Her Own People": A sensitive girl finds acceptance and connection with her estranged relatives.
  • "In the Old Valley": A nostalgic look at a rural community facing change and modernization.
  • "The Understanding of Sister Sara": An unexpected friendship blossoms between two individuals from different social backgrounds.
  • "The Dissipation of Miss Ponsonby": A humorous tale of a spinster's transformation after inheriting a fortune.


This collection offers a delightful introduction to Montgomery's writing before her major success. It's a charming window into her early literary voice, with relatable characters, timeless themes, and a touch of magic that would later define her most famous works.


Required fields are marked *. Your email address will not be published.