Further Chronicles of Avonlea

0.00 Avg rating0 Votes
Genres: canada
Language: english
Type: Digital

"Further Chronicles of Avonlea" isn't a singular novel, but a collection of 15 short stories by L.M. Montgomery set in the charming village of Avonlea, Prince Edward Island. While published as a sequel to "Chronicles of Avonlea," it focuses less on Anne Shirley and more on other residents of the town.

Here's a quick summary:

Themes: Love, loss, self-discovery, community, forgiveness, second chances.

Stories: Each tale revolves around different characters experiencing life's joys and challenges. You'll encounter Aunt Cynthia's matchmaking Persian cat, a woman yearning for a child, a hidden family secret, a ghost helping fulfill dreams, and even a man posing as someone he's not.

Anne's Role: She appears in only one story as the narrator ("The Little Brown Book of Miss Emily"), where she explores Miss Emily's hidden diary and finds a heartwarming tale of love and sacrifice.

Overall: Filled with Montgomery's signature blend of humor, pathos, and heartwarming moments, the collection paints a rich picture of life in Avonlea and its diverse inhabitants.

Additional points:

  • If you enjoyed "Chronicles of Avonlea" and L.M. Montgomery's writing style, this collection is a sure treat.
  • While most stories are standalone, some characters reappear, creating a sense of continuity.
  • Be prepared for a range of emotions, from laughter to tears.


Required fields are marked *. Your email address will not be published.