Twenty years after

0.00 Avg rating0 Votes
Genres: Adventure
Language: English
Type: Digital

Twenty Years After by Alexandre Dumas and Auguste Maquet is the sequel to the classic adventure novel The Three Musketeers. Set twenty years after the events of the first book, it follows the four musketeers—d'Artagnan, Athos, Porthos, and Aramis—as they come together once again to defend the French throne and save a king from execution.

The novel is set against the backdrop of the Fronde, a civil war that raged in France during the minority of Louis XIV. France is divided between two factions: the Frondeurs, who oppose the regency of Anne of Austria and Cardinal Mazarin; and the Royalists, who support the king.

The four musketeers find themselves on opposite sides of the conflict. D'Artagnan remains loyal to the king, while Athos and Aramis join the Fronde. Porthos, ever the opportunist, switches sides back and forth as the tide of the war turns.

Despite their differences, the four musketeers must unite to save the king from Charles I of England, who is plotting to have him executed. In a thrilling climax, the musketeers storm the Palace of Whitehall and rescue the king.

Twenty Years After is a timeless tale of adventure, friendship, and loyalty. It is a must-read for fans of The Three Musketeers and anyone who enjoys a good historical fiction novel.


Required fields are marked *. Your email address will not be published.