Robert Louis Stevenson

Robert Louis Stevenson

Robert Louis Stevenson (1850-1894) was a Scottish novelist, essayist, poet and travel writer. He is best known for works such as Treasure Island, Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, Kidnapped and A Child's Garden of Verses.

Stevenson was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, to a wealthy family. He studied law at Edinburgh University, but he soon gave it up to pursue a career in writing. He traveled extensively throughout Europe and the Americas, and his experiences inspired many of his works.

Stevenson's first major success came with the publication of Treasure Island in 1883. The novel is a classic pirate adventure story that has been enjoyed by readers of all ages for generations. Stevenson followed up Treasure Island with a number of other successful novels, including Kidnapped (1886), Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde (1886), and The Master of Ballantrae (1889).

Stevenson was also a prolific essayist and poet. He published several collections of essays, including Virginibus Puerisque (1881) and Familiar Studies of Men and Books (1882). He also wrote a collection of poems for children, A Child's Garden of Verses (1885), which is considered one of the greatest children's poetry books ever written.

Stevenson died in Samoa in 1894 at the age of 44. He is considered one of the most important Scottish writers of all time. His works continue to be read and enjoyed by people all over the world.

Stevenson's legacy is immense. He is one of the most influential authors in English literature and his works have had a profound impact on popular culture. His novels have been adapted into numerous films and television series, and his characters have become iconic figures in Western literature. Stevenson's work continues to inspire and entertain readers around the world.

Found 4 books in total
Treasure Island
Treasure Island is an adventure novel by Scottish author Robert Louis Stevenson,...
The Black Arrow: A Tale of the Two Roses
The Black Arrow: A Tale of the Two Roses is a classic adventure novel by Robert Louis...
Catriona by Robert Louis Stevenson is the sequel to his classic adventure novel...
Kidnapped: A Thrilling Adventure Novel by Robert Louis Stevenson Embark on a...
Books per page: